Chapel of Le Bouchet

  • La chapelle du Bouchet, début XXI ème siècle
  • Qu’y a-t-il derrière cette fenêtre ?
  • Le retable de la chapelle
  • L’Autel de la chapelle
  • Rosace sur la façade
  • La chapelle du Bouchet, fin du XXème siècle
  • La chapelle du Bouchet
  • La chapelle du Bouchet intérieur
  • La chapelle du Bouchet
La chapelle du Bouchet, début XXI ème siècleQu’y a-t-il derrière cette fenêtre ?Le retable de la chapelleL’Autel de la chapelleRosace sur la façadeLa chapelle du Bouchet, fin du XXème siècleLa chapelle du BouchetLa chapelle du Bouchet intérieurLa chapelle du Bouchet
Contact
Route de la chapelle du Bouchet
Vallée du Bouchet
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
mail / message
Phone : +33 4 50 02 79 18
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Close
My request
Your Contact Details



According to Law no. 78-17, dated January 6th 1978 of the French personal data act (CNIL), concerning information technology, files and personal liberty (article 36), the holder of the right of access may demand that any information that is inexact, missing or out-of-date information or whose collection, use, communication or storage is forbidden concerning him/herself be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted. To exercise this right, please use the above form.
The chapel of Le Bouchet, in the heart of the Bouchet valley, was founded in 1704 after a flood. It boasts a beautiful altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century.
In 1702, two years after the founding of the chapel of Les Plans, the chapel of Le Bouchet was built by 10 of the local residents following a flood. The land on which the chapel is built was donated by Jean Perrissin-Pirasset. The chapel was placed under the patronage of the Holy Virgin, of St Anthony of Padua and of the Guardian Angel. The altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century, testifies to this origin.

Although the altar and the altarpiece are contemporary, other items have been preserved which date from the Baroque era: two twisted posts and cherubs, most likely dating from the XVIII century.
The central picture, however, dates from the XX century. It represents Our Lady of Assumption, with a picture of a starry Virgin, dressed in blue and white, crushing the serpent of sin.

On the façade of the chapel there are 2 arched windows and above the portal is an 8-branched rose window. Standing on a four-sided base, the bell tower rises above the chapel and has a ball and cross at its summit. Hanging in the tower is a bronze bell which was cast by the Paccard foundry in 1844. It replaced an older bell which had been cast in 1719. Jean Pierre Perillat Monet acted as the bell`s godfather and Jeannine Perillat-Monet as its godmother.

The chapel was renovated in 1927 and the bell tower in 1981. In 2010, the bell was electrified and the outside wall was restored with pebbledash and wall ties. The inside of the chapel was repainted, greatly improving the lighting for viewing the furniture and the Stations of the Cross.
All year round
Description
  • Religious heritage :
    • Religious heritage
    • Chapel
  • Period :
    • 18th C
    • 19th C
Facilities and services
  • Parking :
    • Parking
To note
  • Type of SITRA offer :
    • Indoor
    • Bad weather alternative
  • Accessibility criteria for people with reduced mobility :
    • Accessible for wheelchairs with assistance
    • Not accessible in a wheelchair
    • Possibility of drop-off in front of the site
Localisation
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
Chapelle du Bouchet
Route de la chapelle du Bouchet
Vallée du Bouchet
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 45.937755
Longitude : 6.46023
Tarifs
Free
View also
After 60 years of building work, undertaken and financed by the local community,it was consecrated in 1877. Built in the neo-gothic style of the XIX century, the architecture is typical of the golden age of the Catholic church.
The Heritage House is a traditional Grand-Bornand chalet, built in 1830, which has been renovated and furnished to make a museum. It is a listed museum since 2007.
The Stations of the Cross pilgrimage at La Duche originated in 1888, linking the chapel of La Duche with St Bruno's oratory, the site of a miraculous spring.
The original cemetery was situated for a long time immediately around the church. In the mid-XX century, it had to be relocated so that a new village square could be built in front of the Tourist Office, the Town Hall and the church.
The cross at Le Clos du Pin is unusual for two reasons : firstly, this stone cross is the oldest of all the Le Grand Bornand crosses (dating from 1500) and secondly, and for the same reason, it has been classified since 1944 as a heritage monument.
The Town Hall is a stone building, typical of early XX century architecture. It houses all the municipal services and the meeting room for the village council.
The weekly market at the Grenette, the old grain market of Le Grand Bornand, characterizes the heart of the old town square. All sorts of concerts and events also take place here, such as concerts given by the local brass band and many local celebrations.
The inscribed border stone, at the foot of the dale of Tardevant, marks the limit between the villages of Le Grand Bornand and La Clusaz. This stone is about 1m. long and is dated 1755.
The chapel of la Duche is the oldest of Grand Bornand. Based in the end of the XVIIth century,it is reconstructed at the end of the XIXth century. Itis dedicated in particular to several agrarian saints: saint Anne, saint Grat and saint Guérin.
Founded in 1677, the chapel is nestled in the heart of the old village of Le Chinaillon. Despite major renovation work to the building in 1977, it has retained its traditional appearance.
Located in the heart of the hamlet of Les Plans, the chapel of the same name was founded in 1702 after the flooding of the Borne river. From the chapel there is a wonderful view over the Aravis mountain chain.
Standing above the village of Le Grand Bornand, with panoramic views over the Aravis chain, the chapel of Le Nant Robert is well worth seeing. It was founded in 1762 and renovated on several occasions during the course of the XX century.
At the end of the Bouchet valley, just above the hamlet of Lormay, there is a stone testifying to events which took place during the French Revolution : priests refusing to swear allegiance to the Constitution were hidden by the local population.
04 50 02 79 18
During your walks and leisurely strolls, use your mobile phone for an interactive way to discover Le Grand-Bornand's rich heritage.
04 50 02 78 00
Those who love “middle of nowhere” roads with views across spectacular mountains, in this case the Aravis, will adore this very difficult climb. Café at the top.