The Grenette

  • La place du marché début XXème siècle
  • Le marché au reblochon début XXème siècle
  • La grenette en travaux, été  2013
  • L’ancienne place du marché en 2012
La place du marché début XXème siècleLe marché au reblochon début XXème siècleLa grenette en travaux, été  2013L’ancienne place du marché en 2012
Contact
Place de la Grenette
Le Grand-Bornand Village
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
mail / message
Phone : +33 4 50 02 79 18
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Close
My request
Your Contact Details



According to Law no. 78-17, dated January 6th 1978 of the French personal data act (CNIL), concerning information technology, files and personal liberty (article 36), the holder of the right of access may demand that any information that is inexact, missing or out-of-date information or whose collection, use, communication or storage is forbidden concerning him/herself be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted. To exercise this right, please use the above form.
The weekly market at the Grenette, the old grain market of Le Grand Bornand, characterizes the heart of the old town square. All sorts of concerts and events also take place here, such as concerts given by the local brass band and many local celebrations.
The first mentions of a Grenette, or grain market, date back to 1569, when the whole village was burned down. There is evidence that there was a new building again in 1742 and it was rebuilt several times, first of all in 1797 and also in the years following 1870. It would seem that the Grenette was a wooden structure and this would explain why it often collapsed, particularly under the weight of the snow at the beginning of the XIX century. It was only rebuilt towards the end of the XIX century, when important work on the roads and the church took place.

In 1954, the Grenette was rebuilt under the direction of an architect named Jacquet. Nearly 200 hewn stones were laid by the Calzorali company from Saint Jorioz and the wooden framework was made by the Seguet company in Annecy.
In the stone lower section there used to be a public washouse, the public toilets and a store room for the village road-mender. This foundation layer has been preserved. In the spring of 2013, the Grenette was once again dismantled, although the stone base with the arcades and the diamond-shaped apex have been preserved.
All year round
Description
  • Period :
    • 21st C
  • Historical heritage :
    • Historic patrimony
    • Covered market
Facilities and services
  • Parking :
    • Parking
To note
  • Type of SITRA offer :
    • Indoor
    • Bad weather alternative
Localisation
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
Grenette
Place de la Grenette
Le Grand-Bornand Village
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 45.942463
Longitude : 6.427914
Tarifs
Free
View also
After 60 years of building work, undertaken and financed by the local community,it was consecrated in 1877. Built in the neo-gothic style of the XIX century, the architecture is typical of the golden age of the Catholic church.
The Heritage House is a traditional Grand-Bornand chalet, built in 1830, which has been renovated and furnished to make a museum. It is a listed museum since 2007.
The chapel of Le Bouchet, in the heart of the Bouchet valley, was founded in 1704 after a flood. It boasts a beautiful altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century.
The Stations of the Cross pilgrimage at La Duche originated in 1888, linking the chapel of La Duche with St Bruno's oratory, the site of a miraculous spring.
The original cemetery was situated for a long time immediately around the church. In the mid-XX century, it had to be relocated so that a new village square could be built in front of the Tourist Office, the Town Hall and the church.
The cross at Le Clos du Pin is unusual for two reasons : firstly, this stone cross is the oldest of all the Le Grand Bornand crosses (dating from 1500) and secondly, and for the same reason, it has been classified since 1944 as a heritage monument.
The Town Hall is a stone building, typical of early XX century architecture. It houses all the municipal services and the meeting room for the village council.
The inscribed border stone, at the foot of the dale of Tardevant, marks the limit between the villages of Le Grand Bornand and La Clusaz. This stone is about 1m. long and is dated 1755.
The chapel of la Duche is the oldest of Grand Bornand. Based in the end of the XVIIth century,it is reconstructed at the end of the XIXth century. Itis dedicated in particular to several agrarian saints: saint Anne, saint Grat and saint Guérin.
Founded in 1677, the chapel is nestled in the heart of the old village of Le Chinaillon. Despite major renovation work to the building in 1977, it has retained its traditional appearance.
Located in the heart of the hamlet of Les Plans, the chapel of the same name was founded in 1702 after the flooding of the Borne river. From the chapel there is a wonderful view over the Aravis mountain chain.
Standing above the village of Le Grand Bornand, with panoramic views over the Aravis chain, the chapel of Le Nant Robert is well worth seeing. It was founded in 1762 and renovated on several occasions during the course of the XX century.
At the end of the Bouchet valley, just above the hamlet of Lormay, there is a stone testifying to events which took place during the French Revolution : priests refusing to swear allegiance to the Constitution were hidden by the local population.
04 50 45 00 33
A short but very steep climb above the pretty village-resort of Le Grand-Bornand, famous for its traditional chalets and “onion-bulb” steeple.
04 50 02 78 00
Those who love “middle of nowhere” roads with views across spectacular mountains, in this case the Aravis, will adore this very difficult climb. Café at the top.
04 50 02 79 18
During your walks and leisurely strolls, use your mobile phone for an interactive way to discover Le Grand-Bornand's rich heritage.