Chapel of Les Plans

  • La chapelle des Plans
  • Une source de lumière
  • Une chaise en bois
  • Le tableau central
  • L’autel de la chapelle
  • La chapelle des Plans, début XXI ème siècle
  • La chapelle des Plans fin XXème siècle
  • La chapelle des Plans l'autel
  • La chapelle des Plans et les Aravis
  • La chapelle des Plans 2
La chapelle des PlansUne source de lumièreUne chaise en boisLe tableau centralL’autel de la chapelleLa chapelle des Plans, début XXI ème siècleLa chapelle des Plans fin XXème siècleLa chapelle des Plans l'autelLa chapelle des Plans et les AravisLa chapelle des Plans 2
Contact
Vallée du Bouchet
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
mail / message
Phone : +33 4 50 02 79 18
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_ECRIRE_MESSAGE
Close
My request
Your Contact Details



According to Law no. 78-17, dated January 6th 1978 of the French personal data act (CNIL), concerning information technology, files and personal liberty (article 36), the holder of the right of access may demand that any information that is inexact, missing or out-of-date information or whose collection, use, communication or storage is forbidden concerning him/herself be rectified, completed, clarified, updated or deleted. To exercise this right, please use the above form.
Located in the heart of the hamlet of Les Plans, the chapel of the same name was founded in 1702 after the flooding of the Borne river. From the chapel there is a wonderful view over the Aravis mountain chain.
The chapel was founded in 1702, following the flooding of the Borne river. It is located in the valley of Le Bouchet, where the road leading to the hamlet of Lormay and the road to the Col des Annes meet. The Chapel is under the patronage of Our Lady of Grace, Saint François de Sales (missionary in the Chablais area and Bishop of Geneva from 1602 to 1622) and Sant Grat, protector of crops (see the painting above the altar). The painting probably dates from the XIII century : the Virgin handing a rose to the Child in her arms. The altar and the altarpiece are both contemporary, enhancing the older painting. The drawings on the Stations of the Cross inside the chapel have been drawn with Indian ink and date from the period of Napoleon III. You will also see an old wooden chair with rounded arm-rests, dating from the XIII Century.

The chapel has retained its original appearance with the exception of a new overhanging roof above the main door to protect it from humidity. There are two small windows on each side of the chapel door.The font dates from 1753. Above the chapel is the bell tower, with an octogonal base, an onion-shaped dome (egg :symbol of birth) and a cross on the summit. The bell was cast by the Meunier foundry in Chambéry in 1852 (much like the Nant Robert Chapel in 1819). Jean-François Legon was the bell's godfather, and Josephine Perrillat Monet was its godmother.

The chapel was renovated several times towards the end of the XIX Century ; in 1871, 1887/1889 and then regularly during the course of the XX Century ; between 1924 and 1927 , in 1957, 1982 , 1989 and more recently in 2011, when the drainage system for the foundations of the building and the repainting of the interior were completed.
All year round
Description
  • Religious heritage :
    • Religious heritage
    • Chapel
  • Period :
    • 18th C
    • 19th C
Facilities and services
  • Parking :
    • Parking
To note
  • Type of SITRA offer :
    • Indoor
    • Bad weather alternative
  • Accessibility criteria for people with reduced mobility :
    • Accessible for wheelchairs with assistance
    • Not accessible in a wheelchair
    • Reserved space 330 cm wide < 100 m from the site
    • Possibility of drop-off in front of the site
Localisation
FICHE_INFO_SIMPLE_LIBELLE_DESTINATION
Chapelle des Plans
Vallée du Bouchet
74450
Le Grand-Bornand
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 45.935554
Longitude : 6.485636
Tarifs
Free
View also
After 60 years of building work, undertaken and financed by the local community,it was consecrated in 1877. Built in the neo-gothic style of the XIX century, the architecture is typical of the golden age of the Catholic church.
The Heritage House is a traditional Grand-Bornand chalet, built in 1830, which has been renovated and furnished to make a museum. It is a listed museum since 2007.
The chapel of Le Bouchet, in the heart of the Bouchet valley, was founded in 1704 after a flood. It boasts a beautiful altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century.
The Stations of the Cross pilgrimage at La Duche originated in 1888, linking the chapel of La Duche with St Bruno's oratory, the site of a miraculous spring.
The original cemetery was situated for a long time immediately around the church. In the mid-XX century, it had to be relocated so that a new village square could be built in front of the Tourist Office, the Town Hall and the church.
The cross at Le Clos du Pin is unusual for two reasons : firstly, this stone cross is the oldest of all the Le Grand Bornand crosses (dating from 1500) and secondly, and for the same reason, it has been classified since 1944 as a heritage monument.
The Town Hall is a stone building, typical of early XX century architecture. It houses all the municipal services and the meeting room for the village council.
The weekly market at the Grenette, the old grain market of Le Grand Bornand, characterizes the heart of the old town square. All sorts of concerts and events also take place here, such as concerts given by the local brass band and many local celebrations.
The inscribed border stone, at the foot of the dale of Tardevant, marks the limit between the villages of Le Grand Bornand and La Clusaz. This stone is about 1m. long and is dated 1755.
The chapel of la Duche is the oldest of Grand Bornand. Based in the end of the XVIIth century,it is reconstructed at the end of the XIXth century. Itis dedicated in particular to several agrarian saints: saint Anne, saint Grat and saint Guérin.
Founded in 1677, the chapel is nestled in the heart of the old village of Le Chinaillon. Despite major renovation work to the building in 1977, it has retained its traditional appearance.
Standing above the village of Le Grand Bornand, with panoramic views over the Aravis chain, the chapel of Le Nant Robert is well worth seeing. It was founded in 1762 and renovated on several occasions during the course of the XX century.
At the end of the Bouchet valley, just above the hamlet of Lormay, there is a stone testifying to events which took place during the French Revolution : priests refusing to swear allegiance to the Constitution were hidden by the local population.
04 50 02 79 18
During your walks and leisurely strolls, use your mobile phone for an interactive way to discover Le Grand-Bornand's rich heritage.